Sharkies!

April 24, 2012 at 1:44 pm 3 comments

I just returned from a FANTASTIC weekend in Baltimore at the Sports, Cardiovascular and Wellness Nutrition (SCAN) conference with Elise!  We attended lectures on subjects ranging from sports nutrition to eating disorders to the latest scientific research on nutrients.  I learned new information as well as supportive research on facts I have already shared with you on Tart Cherry juice and Beet juice.  We gathered lots of samples and I’d like to share with you a new (to me) sport chew:  Sharkies.

Sharkies is an organic energy sport chew.  They do not contain any fructose or gluten.  The ingredients are few, simple and organic.  They are a natural source of electrolytes – potassium and sodium.  And, most importantly, they taste really yummy!

I tried them this morning before my run and I felt energetic and well fueled!  Sharkies is a perfect pre-exercise and during-exercise snack for any sport:  running, swimming, rowing, biking, soccer, etc. and it is appropriate for any age – kids to adults.

Sharkies sponsored a Tough Mudder training session featuring the famous Mustache Man  one morning at the SCAN convention!  It was a fun, challenging workout and we were given a free Sharkies T-shirt as a bonus!  I also won a new Sports Nutrition book in a drawing after the workout!  Additional Bonus!  I’m still living the bonus of that workout as I have had sore buns and legs for several days!  Yeah!  (Tough Mudders NEVER whine!)

Sharkies are sold at REI (Recreational Equipment, Inc) and other locations.  There is a link on their website for a store locator near you.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Beetroot Juice Juicing Beets

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. natalie  |  April 27, 2012 at 1:40 am

    cute pic!

    Reply
  • 2. Elise  |  May 17, 2012 at 11:05 am

    I have tried out the Sharkies on my long runs lately and have really liked them. They aren’t overly sweet and don’t give me a sugar overload….

    Reply
    • 3. Marcia Nelson, RD  |  May 17, 2012 at 11:46 am

      I’m glad you found something that works for you! I like them, too, and agree that the sweetness is at a good level.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Editorial Calendar

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Categories

Recent Posts


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

