Meatless Mondays

September 12, 2011 at 1:14 pm Leave a comment

Today is Monday and often I get asked “What do you serve for Meatless Mondays?”  I thought I’d share what we had last Monday.

Last week I bought most of my dinner at the Hingham Farmer’s Market.  The market has grown tremendously in the past few years.  My husband isn’t a big fan of this event, so I try to focus on what I like best so we are in and out in a matter of a few minutes.  I skip the jewelry and baked goods section and go straight to the farm fresh fruits and vegetables.  Freitas Farms is my favorite stand and I bought red and yellow beets, green beans, purple potatoes, tomatoes, and fresh, sweet corn.  Other favorite stands are Weir River Farm and To Dine For.

Next we hit Nella Pasta.  These women have been bringing their fresh, homemade pasta to this farmer’s market for several years.  It is sooo good!  Every week they bring different pastas.  Today we bought Herbes de Provence linguine.

Before heading out, we’d been wanting to try the coffee truck, Redeye Roasters, because they are going to be opening a small coffee shop on the marina.  We ordered a cup of coffee which was individually brewed and waited a few minutes for our fresh cup.  It was full flavored and delicious.  I can’t wait to try their lattes in a few months when they open.

At home, I cut up the beets and potatoes.  They were so beautiful!  The beets were a brilliant magenta.

I mixed the vegetables with olive oil and salt and put them in the oven at 425 for about 20 minutes.

While the vegetables roasted, I boiled the water for the Herbes de Provence linguine.

Fresh pasta only needs to cook for about 1-2 minutes.  Once done, I poured some extra virgin olive oil on it to keep it moist.

Next, I sliced the fresh tomatoes.

We had some leftover Tuna that my husband, Tad,  had bought from Chatham Pier Fish Market.  It had been line caught off the shore of Cape Cod.  I’m not a big fan of seared tuna, the best way to eat tuna. Neither is my son, Ryder.  So, I seared the tuna for Tad and I cooked another piece a little longer.  The tuna was available to add to our fresh pasta and farm fresh veggie dinner.

Add a glass of Savignon Blanc from Marlborough, New Zealand, and the meal was complete.  Our favorite!

I hope this inspires you to head out to your farmer’s market and support your local farms.  The vegetables are fresh-picked and have traveled only a very short distance.

Bon apetit!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Electrolytes? Ch-ch-ch-Chia!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 286 other followers

Editorial Calendar

September 2011
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Categories

Recent Posts


